Skip to main content

CMAT 100 Mason: Find articles

In the research process: ARTICLES

    1. Explore topic context (casual web searching)
    2. Learn basic topic information (library catalog: books)

    3. Focus on current scholarly conversations (library databases: articles)
    4. Synthesize your ideas with previous scholarship (source citation)
    5. Drafts & revisions (librarians & learning commons)

      +Multi-subject Databases

      Keyowrds:     promote         sustainability          campus            programs

      1. sustainability = 58,000 articles

      2. sustainab* = 100,000 articles

      3. add "college campus" - notice your results are more specific.

      4. add "promote". Limit to Scholarly.

      5. Cite/export article to Easybib


      Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
       
      Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
       
      Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. 
       
      Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 

      Communication Arts Database List

      Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals

      Databases by Subject or by Name