About Databases
Use databases to find articles on your topic. Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. Use the Find-It button to determine how to access the full article when there is no electronic full-text.
The Find It Button
The Find-It Button
It's a bit like magic, really! The Find It button does three things:
- Looks in all of our databases to see if the document you want is available full-text in another of our databases. If so, it links you to it!
- Links you to the library catalog when we have the item you want in print or microform (you need to check Holdings to see if we have the particular issue of the journal)
- Links you to ILLiad (interlibrary loan) so you can borrow the item from another library if we don't have access electronically or in print.
So the moral of the story -- DO NOT give up if the full text is not available in the database you are searching in.The Find It button is YOUR FRIEND!
Citation Linker
You can also use the Citation Linker, another fabulously cool tool. It is useful when you are reading an article and it cites another article that looks like it would be super useful for your research. You plug in the citation information for that article and can find out how to access it, whether it be electronically, physically in the library, or through Interlibrary Loan. It works the same way as Find It, but you don't have to be in a database.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Subject-specific Databases
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowIt provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
- Health Source: Nursing Academic This link opens in a new windowNearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowLGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.