Skip to main content

Sustainability Resources Guide: Web Resources

Sustainability resources

Sustainable Agriculture and Organic Farming Resources and Organizations

State of Maryland and Local


Maryland Agriculture -- Sustainable & Organic Resources

Offers links and contact information to a variety of agricultural resources in and around Maryland; the link above goes directly to the Sustainable & Organic Resources page.


Future Harvest: A Chesapeake Alliance for Sustainable Agriculture

A network of farmers, agricultural professionals, landowners and consumers that works to promote profitable, environmentally sound and socially acceptable food and farming systems to sustain communities.


Maryland Organic Food & Farming Association

An educational organization whose mission is to bring together the community of growers, consumers and retailers in Maryland to support organic and ecological farming and local food production.


National and International


Rodale Institute

Dedicated to pioneering organic farming through research and outreach to assist farmers throughout the world.


Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC)

USDA's comprehensive resource site for sustainable food systems and practices, with information organized into 11 categories including Sustainability in Agriculture, Soil and Water Management, and Ecological Pest Management.


National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service

Provides access to a wealth of information on sustainable and organic agriculture, including news, events and funding opportunities.


Sustainable Agriculture Research & Education (SARE)

Provides infortmaiton on grants, education and state programs to advance innovations in sustainable agriculture.


National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition

An alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources and rural commodities.


Sustainable Agriculture Resource List

From the USDA's AFSIC site, an outstanding list of sustainable agriculture organizations and information providers.


National Organic Program

From the Agricultural Marketing Service of the USDA, provides information on all facets of the National Organic Program.


A view of green mountain hills in the Dominican Republic

National and International Statistical and Informational Web Resources

Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC): CDIAC is the main climate change data and information center of the U.S. Department of Energy. Among other subjects, the website covers emissions of carbon dioxide to the atmosphere, long-term climate trends and the vulnerability of coastal areas to rising sea levels.


EarthTrends: EarthTrends is a comprehensive online database that offers environmental, social and economic data in statistical, graphic and analytical form. It is maintained by the World Resources Institute, a global environmental think tank.


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): Climate Change: The EPA's Climate Change Division maintains the Climate Change website of the EPA. The website includes information on regulatory initiatives, U.S. climate policy, greenhouse gas emissions, and health & environmental effects of climate change.


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): Sustainability: The EPA's Sustainability website is maintained by the Sustainability Program of the EPA's Office of Research and Development. The site provides access to EPA programs and research activities related to the four topic areas of Safe and Sustainable Communities; Sustainable Water; Air, Climate and Energy; and Materials Management and Safe Chemicals.


Global Environmental Outlook (GEO) Data Portal: The GEO Data Portal of the United Nations Environment Programme provides national, subregional, regional and global statistics and geospatial data sets on subjects such as freshwater, population, emissions and climate.


United Nations (UN) Atlas of the Oceans: The UN Atlas of the Oceans provides information related to the sustainable development of the oceans. It has information organized under four main headings: About the Oceans, which includes history, biology, maps and statistics; Uses of the Oceans, which includes fishing, shipping, mining, tourism, dumping and marine biotechnology; Issues, including food security, climate change, and human health; and Geography, which organizes information by geographical area.


United Nations (UN) Division for Sustainable Development: The UN Division for Sustainable Development provides leadership and guidance within the UN on all issues pertaining to sustainable development. The Resources tab offers links to databases, UN publications, and other authoritative information relevant to sustainable development.


Power County Wind Farm - Power County, Idaho


Renewable Energy Resources

Wind Power


Solar Power


Tidal Power