Skip to main content

Sustainability Research Guide: Find Articles

Sustainability resources

Database Info

SU Databases

At SU Libraries you have access to a multitude of databases and each database offers access to a multitude of individual academic journal titles.

Some databases will have the full text of journal articles available within the database, others will have only article citations and abstracts. 

Sailing in Bellingham Bay, Puget Sound, with Mt. baker in the background

For articles that are not available in full text through the databases, you may use the citation information to request these through interlibrary loan.

The SU Libraries Interlibrary Loan Department will be able to provide most article requests within two to three working days. Some requests will be completed within only a few minutes; others will take longer than the average of two to three days.

NOTE: When off-campus, you will need to log into Research Port using your username and password. For more information, view this interlibrary loan tutorial

Deception Pass Bridge, connecting Whidbey Island to Fidalgo Island in the Puget Sound

 

 

Suggested Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases and Newspapers

Academic Search Complete -  More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

JSTOR - Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.

Lexis-Nexis Academic - News, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles; federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law.

MAS Fulltext Ultra - Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.


Baltimore Sun - Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Baltimore Sun from 9/16/1990 to the present.

Early American Newspapers - Indexes & provides full text of hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography of early American newspapers.

Historical Newspapers -  Provides full-text and full-image articles from the Baltimore Sun (1837-1987), the New York Times (1851-2009), Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and Washington Post (1877-1996). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.

National Newspapers - Indexes and provides access to online full text for four newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.


Subject-Specific Databases

Agricola - Citations to journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.

ASFA Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - Abstracts and indexing for over 5000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. Currently @ 1 million records.

BioOne - Open-access full-text journal collection focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Most of the journals are published by small societies & non-commercial publishers and until now have only been available in printed form.

COMAR Online - Code of Maryland regulations.

Environmental Health Perspectives - Monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

MEDLINE (EBSCO) with Full Text -Provides all the information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the full-text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Plant Science Abstracts - Access to citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.

Science Direct - Abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals, with full text for more than 800 journals; includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities.

Web of Science -  Access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, enabling It users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 high impact research journals.


Sunset over Bellingham Bay in the Puget Sound, with Lummi Island in the background


Subject Librarian

Stephen Ford's picture
Stephen Ford
Contact:
OFFICE: Conway Hall 226 G
PHONE: 410-677-4602
EMAIL: saford@salisbury.edu