Skip to main content

Geographic Information Systems: Find Articles

Search Engine Databases

Depending on your topic, your research needs might be more in the humanities than in the pure sciences - as such you'll find a plethora of available databases here for you to search through......

 

Academic Search Complete (This multi-disciplinary database provides more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.)

AGRICOLA (Science & Agriculture: citations to agricultural literature)

Annual Reviews (Synthesizes primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in your field.)

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences (ASFA series is the premier reference index in the field of aquatic resources.)

Biological Sciences & Medical Sciences (Abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.)

Biology Digest (Compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences.)

BioMed Central (Science, Technology and Medicine publisher of open access and peer reviewed journals.)

BioOne (Contains 68 full-text bioscience research journals)

Business Source Premier (Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.)

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.)

Conference Papers Index (Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.)

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 (More than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.)

EconLit (References to economic literature)

Environmental Health Perspectives (Monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news on the impact of the environment on human health.)

Health Source: Consumer Edition (Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines on topics concerning medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.)

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition (Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.)

Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

Historical Documents Series (CQ Press: Primary documents)

Historical New York Times (1851-2006, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge, Millennial Edition)

Historical Wall Street Journal (1889-1992, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

Historical Washington Post (1877-1993, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

JSTOR (Collections for Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VII, Business I, Ecology & Biology I, and Life Sciences)

MEDLINE with Full Text (Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.)

Oceanic Abstracts (Worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment.)

Plant Science Abstracts (Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.)

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (Research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.)

ScienceDirect (Full-text scientific database on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.)

TOXLINE (Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology.)

Web of Science (Citations on science, technology, social sciences and arts & humanities.)

Subject Guide

Susan Brazer's picture
Susan Brazer
Contact:
Guerrieri Academic Commons

- Salisbury University--

Salisbury, MD

410-546-4370