Skip to main content

Communication Arts Guide: Find Articles

About Databases

Use databases to find articles on your topic.  Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article.  Use the Find-It button to determine how to access the full article when there is no electronic full-text.

The Find It Button

The Find-It Button

It's a bit like magic, really.  The Find It button does three things:

  • Looks in all of our databases to see if the document you want is available full-text in another of our databases.  If so, it links you to it!
  • Links you to the library catalog when we have the item you want in print or microform.
  • Links you to ILLiad (interlibrary loan) so you can borrow the item from another library if we don't have access electronically or in print.

The Find It button is YOUR FRIEND!!!  Click here to see the Find It button starring in a short tutorial!

You can also use the Citation Linker, another fabulously cool tool.   It is useful when you are reading an article and it cites another article that looks like it would be super useful for your research.   You plug in the citation information for that article and can find out how to access it, whether it be electronically, physically in the library, or through Interlibrary Loan.  It works the same way as Find It, but you don't have to be in a database.

Learn more about the Citation Linker!

Suggested Databases

Multidisciplinary/Newspapers:

  • Academic Search Complete - a multidisciplinary database containing both scholarly and popular sources, many of which have full-text available.  ASP is a good place to start your research.  Use the FindIt button to locate articles that are not available full-text.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic - a great source for full-text world news and legal information.
  • National Newspapers - a source of U.S. news from major papers including The New York Times and The Washington Post.
  • JSTOR  - a huge, wonderful database of scholarly communication from a wide variety of disciplines.  All of these sources are full-text, but the newest documents are 3-5 years old.

Subject-Specific:

  • America: History and Life - covers United States and Canadian history, both full text articles and citations for others with Find-It buttons.
  • Business Source Premier - company, industry, business information with the familiar EBSCO interface. 
  • Columbia International Affairs Online - full text theory, research, and case studies on international affairs.
  • Com Abstracts - citations to articles in Communications Journals.  From this page, choose Com Abstracts in the top right-hand corner to search the database.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete - Full-text and citations for many journals and magazine articles about communication and media topics. 
  • CQ Weekly - Congressional Quarterly Weekly -  your opportunity to find out what's going on in Congress!
  • Contemporary Women's Issues - would be good for topics relating to women.
  • ERIC - "Education Resources Information Center," a database with full text education articles and ERIC documents as well as Find It links to non-full text resources.
  • Humanities International Complete - database covering the Humanities with quite a few Communications journals included.
  • PsycINFO - the gold standard database for psychology and related fields.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts - articles and citations for interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, minority studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology, and more.

Kanopy