Library Guides: CADR200: Methods and Theories

Keeping Track of Methods and Theories

One thing that will make your work stand out from a general report on your topic is that you will be using theories to further or counter the scholarship. You can find sources using the databases and catalog linked on other pages in this guide. Below are some resources to help you formulate your searches.

You have been given these potential theories from your professor to use to analyze your object of study/conflict. It may be helpful to search keywords from the theories and their explanations in the databases to find articles on how other scholars used these theories in their own work.

Conflict Theories Handout
handout provided by your professor on the theories you will be using for this prject
Theories of Conflict (Joseph P. Folger)

Tutorial: choosing a subject database

Subject Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete, CMCC, incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 326 journals.

PRO TIP: Searching theory keywords with conflict keywords

Identify simple one or two-word concepts in your topic:

reproductive rights
two-state solution
trade war

Search the keywords from your topic along with the keywords and names from the theory you are using:
environmental issues AND human needs OR maslow
Israel Palestine Conflict AND function of conflict OR coser

Try lots of different combinations of your search terms!
gun control AND structural violence OR gultang
second amendment AND structural violence OR gultang