Skip to main content

Modern Languages: Find Books

Find Books

Search our library catalog for books about your topic.  
 

The books you can check out are on the second floor of the library and are arranged by Library of Congress call numbers.  If you have any trouble finding a book, please check with the librarian at the research services desk!

You're not limited to the books at SU!  This short tutorial shows you how to borrow books from other University of Maryland campuses.

Find Books - Quick Search

Reference Books for Modern Languages

(NOTE:  Reference books are located on the first floor and must be viewed in the library. Without special permission, they cannot be checked out)


Dictionaries - Translation

Chinese/English, English/Chinese

Business Chinese Dictionary: English - Chinese
REF
PL1455 .B87 1995

Langwen dang dai gao ji ci dian (Ying Ying, Ying Han shuang jie) = Longman dictionary of contemporary English (English-Chinese)
REF PE 1628. L5812 2003

McGraw-Hill’s Chinese dictionary & guide to 20,000 essential words
REF PL1455 .H7957 2010 


French/English, English/French

The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary:  French-English, English-French, 2nd edition.
REF PC2640.C735 1998

Merriam-Webster's French-English Dictionary
REF PC2640.M48 2000


German/English, English/German

The Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary : German-English, English-German
REF  PF3640.C69 1998

Larousse Concise Dictionary:  English German, German English
REF PF3640.L36 2000


Italian/English, English/Italian

DII: Dizionario Inglese Italiano, Italiano Inglese
REF PC1640.D18 2001


Russian/English, English/Russian

English-Russian Russian-English Dictionary
REF PG2640.K34 1984


Spanish/English, English/Spanish

Cassell’s Spanish Dictionary
REF PC4640.C35 

Diccionario Moderno - English-Spanish Larousse
REF PC4640.G28


Biographical Dictionaries - French

Dictionnaire de Biographie Francaise
REF CT143.D5

Dictionnaire des Biographies
REF CT143.G7


Ecyclopedias and Dictionaries in Languages Other than English

Enciclopedia Barsa
REF AE65.E53 1965

Enciclopedia Universal Ilustrada Europeo-Americana
REF AE61.E6

Ensayo de un Diccionario de la Literatura
REF PN41.S2 1964

Larousse du XXe Siecle
REF AE25.L4 1928

L’Encyclopedie our Dictionnaire Raisonne des Sciences, des Arts et des Metiers par une Societe de Gens de Lettres
REF AE25.E533


International Literature Reference Sources

Cassell’s Encyclopaedia of World Literature
REF PN41.C3 1973

Dictionary of Italian Literature
REF PQ4006.D45

Dictionary of Modern French Literature
REF PQ41.D65 1986

Latin American Writers
REF PQ 7081.A1L37 1989

Masterpieces of Latino Literature
REF PQ7081.A1M29 1994

Modern French Literature 
REF PQ306.M57

Modern Latin American Literature
REF PQ7081.F63 1975

Modern Romance Literatures
REF PN813.C8

The Oxford Companion to French Literature
REF PQ41.H3

 


Featured Book from the Catalog

Librarian

Gaylord Robb's picture
Gaylord Robb
Contact:
ggrobb@salisbury.edu