Skip to main content

ENVR 499 - Ransom: Research Resources

Where to look

Archives of Maryland Online
The ongoing Maryland State Archives publication series, Archives of Maryland Online, currently provides access to over 471,000 historical documents that form the constitutional, legal, legislative, judicial, and administrative basis of Maryland's government. Online access enables users to research such topics as Maryland's constitutions and constitutional conventions' proceedings, session laws, proceedings of the General Assembly, governors' papers, and military records. This project allows the Archives to place into electronic form and preserve for future generations records that are scattered among a number of repositories and that often exist only on rapidly disintegrating paper.

 

Historic Eastern Shore Newspapers
The Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History at Salisbury University invites you to search its digital collection of historical Eastern Shore newspapers that provide a unique glimpse into a by-gone way of life, major events, and people. Made possible, in part, by a grant from the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore, this unique collection includes digitized regional newspapers from 1745 through 1922 and represents the Nabb Center's commitment to preserving, providing access to, and facilitating research on these original resources.

 

Historic Map Works
Based in Portland Maine, Historic Map Works, LLC is an Internet company formed to create a historic digital map database of North America and the world. Drawing on the largest physical collection of American property atlases of its type, it is our aim to be the single best online destination for map enthusiasts and researchers alike.

 

Historical Baltimore Sun
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1985. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.

 

Historical New York Times
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.

 

Historical Wall Street Journal
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.

 

Historical Washington Post
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Washington Post. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.

 

JSTOR
‚ÄčElectronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

 

Miles Family Survey collection
The Miles Family survey collection documents numerous Eastern Shore land boundaries. Until the mid-twentieth century, the state of Maryland did not emphasis accuracy of land surveys or the collection of deeds. The work of the Miles family allowed the State of Maryland to utilize original Eastern Shore deeds to legally designate boundary and partition lines. In numerous cases, the Miles’ family records were the only form of land documentation on the Eastern Shore. Consequently, the State of Maryland legally recognized the Miles Family Survey Collection in the court of law and have been used to settle land disputes such as the D379 Assateague Island Land suit. The collection has been the basis for issuing boundary lines, prep construction areas, mapmaking, and engineering. Many of the plats, surveys, and deeds are predominately from Somerset, Worcester, and Wicomico counties, but the collection also extends to the Upper Shore of Maryland, Delaware in Kent and Sussex, and Accomack County, Virginia. The collection is narrowed into election districts. The materials date from 1842-1978 with the bulk of the material dates from 1929-1977. 

 

Science Direct
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than English. It includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities.

 

SOAR@SU (Shared Open Access Repository @ Salisbury University)
SOAR@SU is a digital archive that provides public online access to the work of the faculty, staff, and students of Salisbury University. It is SU's contribution to MD-SOAR (Maryland Shared Open Access Repository).

 

United States Census
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. They honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share their expertise globally, and conduct their work openly.  The US Census conducts the following data collection events:  the Decennial Census of Population and Housing; the Economic Census; the Census of Governments; the American Community SurveyOur Surveys & Programs; and Economic Indicators

 

Web of Science
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.