Skip to main content

ENGR 409 - Acoustics: Session Introduction & Assignment

Library Instruction Goals

This guide should help you:

  • Form an approach to initiating an assignment.
  • Use keywords related to your chosen acoustics topic.
  • Distinguish the differences between popular and scientific journal articles.
  • Explore the library's information resources.
  • Evaluate the information you are finding on your topic.  
  • Select appropriate sources to use for your assignment.  
  • Cite the journal articles in proper APA format.

Assignment and Research

In lieu of exams, you will write a term paper on any field of acoustics that interests you.  You will submit the paper in four installments.  For the first installment, you will need to come up with the topic you are going to research and provide a detailed introduction, including what you want to investigate.  The first installment should be 2-3 pages in length (not including title page or reference page), must have at least 3 legitimate references, and should be in APA format.  Due Feb 15th.


For the second installment of your term paper, you will need to expand on the topic you are researching and include more sources.  The second installment should be at least 5 pages in length (not including title page, references page, or the first installment), must have at least 5 legitimate references, and should be in APA format.  Due March 15th.


For the third installment of your term paper, you will need to expand further on the topic you are researching and include more sources.  The third installment should be at least 5 pages in length (not including title page, references page, or the first or second installments), must have at least 5 legitimate references, and should be in APA format.  Due April 12th


For the final installment of your term paper, you will need to consolidate your first three installments, incorporate feedback from peer reviews, and write your conclusions (including what you have learned through this assignment).  The final installment should be 12-15 pages in length (not including title page or references page), must have at least 12 legitimate references, and should be in APA format.  Due May 17th.

 

Popular Engineering Journals

The journal articles that you can find via the scholarly databases listed on the "Find Articles" tab will for the most part be scientific, peer-reviewed journal articles of a highly academic nature. The following is a list of journal titles that are very popular with engineers for their article quality and the topics that they cover:

 

Some of these titles we have full-text access to, some we do not.  
I have linked them to either their full-text search screen, or to their websites accordingly.
 

Popular Engineering Journals:

Full text:  Engineering Management Journal

Website:  American Journal of Mechanical Engineering

Website:  Mechanical Engineering Journal

Full text:  Civil and Environmental Engineering

Full text:  Environmental Science and Technology

Full text:  Journal of Chemical and Engineering Data

Full text:  Journal of Civil Engineering and Management

Website:  Journal of Applied Mechanical Engineering