Skip to main content

ENGR 100 - Smullen: Session Introduction & Assignment

+Library Instruction Goals

This guide should help you:

  • Form an approach to initiating an assignment.
  • Use keywords related to your chosen engineering failure topic or your ENGR 100 project.
  • Distinguish the differences between popular and scientific journal articles.
  • Explore the library's information resources.
  • Evaluate the information you are finding on your topic.  
  • Select three sources to use for your essay  
  • Cite the journal articles in proper APA format.

Assignment and Research

A 200-word essay describing EITHER a failure in engineering, OR a project related to your Engr 100 project, is due via HARDCOPY Monday February 17th . Emailed submittals will not be accepted for this assignment. Use the time in the library to search for information about your choice of topic. 

Three sources are required, one of which must be a scholarly journal article describing the failure/project from an engineering standpoint. News articles can be sources as well (and are encouraged to provide background information).

Describe in the essay what happened, or what the project entailed, what caused the failure (or success), the consequences, and any lessons learned. One example, as described in your Intro to Engineering Design textbook, is the explosion of the Challenger Space Shuttle.

The essay must include ample parenthetical citations and a Works Cited page. Citations and Works Cited must follow APA format. 

 

Note: You may be able to complete this assignment on your library date

 

 

Popular Engineering Journals

The journal articles that you can find via the scholarly databases listed on the "Find Articles" tab will for the most part be scientific, peer-reviewed journal articles of a highly academic nature. The following is a list of journal titles that are very popular with engineers for their article quality and the topics that they cover:

 

Some of these titles we have full-text access to, some we do not.  
I have linked them to either their full-text search screen, or to their websites accordingly.
 

Popular Engineering Journals:

Full text:  Engineering Management Journal

Website:  American Journal of Mechanical Engineering

Website:  Mechanical Engineering Journal

Full text:  Civil and Environmental Engineering

Full text:  Environmental Science and Technology

Full text:  Journal of Chemical and Engineering Data

Full text:  Journal of Civil Engineering and Management

Website:  Journal of Applied Mechanical Engineering