Skip to main content

BIOL 211 - Microbiology: Find articles

+In the research process: FIND ARTICLES

1. Current scientific scholarly conversations  (Find Articles)
 
2. Support your argument (Cite Sources)
 
3. Drafts & revisions (Research & Writing Help)

 

+Multi-subject Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

 

Medline
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

 

 Science Direct
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals.  Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAi institutions.  Some articles are in languages other than English.  It includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities.  

 

Web of Science
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded , Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.  It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.  ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.  With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.  Users can also navigate to electronic, full-text journal articles.  

This link opens in a new windProvides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than English. It includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanitie

Identifying Primary Vs. Secondary Research Articles